Hello from a rusty old (84) maths enthusiast.

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by alan whittle, Dec 17, 2019.

1. alan whittle

alan whittle

My name is Alan Whittle, and I hope to get some answers and give some answers. I graduated in maths in 1972, and retired from work in 2000, but still fiddle with maths in various ways, although more slowly than I used to.

alan whittle, Dec 17, 2019
  2. alan whittle

TheOAP

Hi Alan,
    I'm Pete Hepple. 1st career was electronics (Radar & comms - RAF). Then programming (ICL, Plessey etc.).
    Retired (age 84) but still program, mostly Math Subjects.
    Would you like to communicate with me? eMail or this forum ?
    One particular problem I have is this :
    Written program to find factors. It works ok. I use all the usual techniques, including Synthetic Division, but have added my own "Deep Scan" : 2 of the given equation 'fed' by 'x' differing by 1/1000000 and then checking the resulting f(x1) and f(x2) results. No problem except where to start and end the scan ?
    At the moment : 9x7 + 3x5 - 2x3 + 12x - 13 (say) would need the search to be +/-13., that is the largest of the leading coefficient or the constant
    You can imagine the time taken if the leading Coefficient or constant were (say) 179 !
    Any ideas ?
    Pete Hepple

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 22, 2020
    TheOAP, Jan 20, 2020
  3. alan whittle

alan whittle

Hello Pete, First I am sorry to be so sluggish in replying, but I have been preoccupied with medical matters related my own health, which is not so rosy at the moment.
    I am not at all expert on your problem, but have given it some thought, so I will just float the ideas that occur to me.
    First, there are polynomials with no real solutions, such as x^2 +2, but I will leave them alone for now, and talk about those that do, such as all polynomials of odd degree.